Encourage higher-order thought in their students by building up from lower-level cognitive skills.

By: B.Jagadeesh

March ’01 /2017

Bloom’s Taxonomy, was initially developed by American educational expert Dr Benjamin S Bloom. ‘Bloom’s Taxonomy’ was created for an academic context. Bloom’s taxonomy contains six categories of cognitive skills ranging from lower-order skills that require less cognitive processing to higher-order skills that require deeper learning and a greater degree of cognitive processing.

Blooms Taxonomy deals with the following three domains

  1. Cognitive domain(intellectual capability, ie., knowledge, or ‘think’)
  2. Affective domain(feelings, emotions and behaviour, ie., attitude, or ‘feel’)
  3. Psychomotor domain(manual and physical skills, ie., skills, or ‘do’)

The cognitive domain refers to categories related to knowledge, comprehension, and critical thinking of a particular topic. Bloom classified these categories into six levels, moving through the lowest order processes to the highest

  1. 1. Knowledge (Recalling facts, terms, basic concepts and answers).
  2. Comprehension (Demonstrative understanding of facts and ideas by organizing, comparing, translating, interpreting, giving descriptions, and stating main ideas.)
  3. Application (Using new knowledge. Applying acquired knowledge, facts, techniques and rules in a different way)
  4. Analysis (Examine and break information into parts)
  5. Creation (Assemble information together in a different way by combining elements in a new pattern or proposing alternative solutions)
  6. Evaluation (Assessing value, making judgments about information, validity of ideas or quality of work)

Bloom’s Taxonomy provides an excellent structure for planning, designing, assessing and evaluating training and learning effectiveness. Few ideas of implementations of Bloom’s Taxonomy are

  1. Writing Intended Learning Outcomes.
  2. Selection of Teaching Pedagogies.
  3. Designing Assessments.

Action Verbs:

Bloom’s Taxonomy